A Skein Winder Made from Recycled Wine Barrels?

It’s wool processing time again, and as I began to put skeins of yarn and roving together realized I had a problem.  My traditional skein winders are not sized to measure yards of material easily.  And too small to create longer skeins, which I prefer.  So I put my husband to work on it, and he designed a winder that meets my needs; providing 2 yards per revolution of the wheel and perfect for my needs.  Shown below is a video we made of how to use this skein winder:

Winding your yarn or roving into skeins is a snap with my new winder, which sells on our website sierrawools.com and comes in table top or floor models.  And happy skeining!

Leave a Reply

